Policies & Procedures

Child Protection and Safeguarding Children

Our service has separate safeguarding leads for Education and Care.

Designated Safeguarding Lead: Emma Thompson

Designated Safeguarding Leads – School: Philippa Whipp, Adam Masterson, Melissa Bolton, Jennifer Banol & Ricky Hughes

Designated Safeguarding Leads – Residential: Vanessa Whitley, Robert Rix, Kirsty Orton, Suzanne Rulten, Erin Kennedy, Sarah Evans, Lucy Rodford, Amy Bicknell, Oliver Thompson & Gemma Bloomfield

Acorn Park has Safeguarding and Child Protection procedures, policy documents and a training programme that incorporates Government and Policy Legislation. Staff are given a copy of the Child Protection Procedures. Staff receive annual training and updates.

Parents/carers, social workers, placing authorities and other significant people are offered a copy of the Child Protection policy.

All visitors are given a Safeguarding information leaflet.

Acorn Park provides policy guidance, which sets out clear guidelines and expectations in the school with regards to appropriate relationships between all staff and the children. At Acorn Park we provide a very caring and professional setting in which the children will be given full emotional support without it being detrimental to their safety and well-being. We recognise that Safeguarding is the responsibility of everyone and all staff are aware of their responsibilities for Safeguarding and promoting the welfare of young people.

Acorn Park has a duty of care and therefore a responsibility to pass on any child protection and safeguarding concerns to the relevant children’s social care services.

blue_large_final Click CEOP gif (3)





We take all complaints seriously. We have a full complaints policy and procedure which is available from the school office or for download below. Initial complaints should be made to the Head of Service, Peter Marshall on 01953 888 656.  If the complaint is concerning the Head of Service please contact Nick Simpson, the School’s Chair of Governors, (Regional Director) via email


Academic year 2018/19  –  1 complaint

Academic year 2019/20  –  2 complaints

Academic year 2020/21  –  5 complaints